Recommended Seed Companies

0
Published July 14, 2016 | Updated July 21, 2016
Place of Learning: Garden
Resource Type: Program Management
Uploaded by:
Kyle Cornforth
Program Affiliations:

Compiled by the Occidental Arts and Ecology Center

Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds – www.rareseeds.com
Offers open-pollinated, natural and non-GMO seeds. Excellent selection of interesting heirloom varieties.

Becker’s Seed Potatoes – R.R. #1, Trout Creek, Ontario, POH 2LO

Bountiful Gardens – www.bountifulgardens.org
Offers untreated, open-pollinated heirloom seeds and publications. Offers many varieties as Certified Organic, Natural or Grow Biointensive™

Cooks Garden – www.cooksgarden.com
Offers heirlooms and some organic varieties.

Fedco – www.fedcoseeds.com
A cooperatively-owned seed company specializing in cold-hardy varieties. Offers many varieties of Certified Organic and heirloom seeds.

High Mowing Organic Seeds – www.highmowingseeds.com
Farm-based family-owned company that offers Certified Organic, heirloom and open-pollinated seeds.

Horizon Herbs – www.horizonherbs.com
Farm-based family-owned company that offers Certified Organic seeds and medicinal herbs.

J.H. Hudson Ethnobotanical Catalog of Seeds – Str. Route 2 Box 337, La Honda, CA 94020

John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds – www.kitchengardenseeds.com
Does not sell treated or genetically modified seeds.

Johnny’s Selected Seeds – www.johnnyseeds.com
Employee-owned producer and merchant that offers a wide range of crops. A number of certified organic seeds are offered.

Native Seed Search – www.nativeseeds.org
A non-profit organization that conserves and distributes a diverse variety of seeds from the American Southwest and northwest Mexico.

Nichols Garden Nursery – www.nicholsgardennursery.com
Family-operated business that offers open-pollinated and hybrid seed appropriate for Northern California and the Pacific Northwest.

Parks Seed Co – www.parkseed.com
Provides only untreated, non-genetically-modified seed, a source of some Certified Organic seeds. Specializes in flowers.

Pinetree Garden Seeds – www.superseeds.com
Good selection, very inexpensive.

Renee’s Garden Seeds – www.reneesgarden.com
Offers heirloom, open-pollinated and hybrid seeds. No treated or GMO seeds.

Richters – www.richters.com
Great selection of culinary and medicinal herbs. No genetically engineered seeds sold.

R. H. Shumway – www.rhshumway.com
Established in 1870, beautiful catalog, interesting varieties.

Ronnigers Seed Potato – www.ronnigers.com
Certified seed potatoes.

Seeds of Change – www.seedsofchange.com
Offers open-pollinated, organically grown, heirloom seeds.

Seed Savers Exchange – www.seedsavers.org
A non-profit organization dedicated to saving heirloom seeds. Has some Certified Organic seeds.

Southern Exposure Seed Exchange – www.southernexposure.com
Specializes in open-pollinated seeds. Many Certified Organic seeds available. Emphasizes varieties adapted to the Mid-Atlantic region. No GMO seeds.

Stokes – www.stokeseeds.com
Offers open-pollinated and hybrid vegetables and flowers.

Territorial Seed Co. – www.territorialseed.com
Wide variety of open-pollinated and hybrid seeds. Many appropriate for cool climates. Organic seeds available.

Tomato Growers – www.tomatogrowers.com
Tomato and pepper varieties. Open-pollinated and hybrid seeds available.

Totally Tomato – www.totallytomato.com
Tomato and pepper varieties. Open-pollinated and hybrid seeds available.

Turtle Tree Seeds – www. Turtletreeseeds.com
Open-pollinated and biodynamically grown seeds. Demeter Certified. No GMO seeds.

Vermont Been Seed Co – www.vermontbean.com
Offers a wide variety of fresh and dry bean varieties.

Wild Garden Seed – www.wildgardenseed.com
Farm-based organic seed company in the Pacific Northwest. Fantastic selection of open-pollinated varieties.

Other Content From Webmaster

The Edible Schoolyard Curriculum Discussion Tool provides a framework for educators to observe and provide feedback to each other on the lessons they teach. This tool can help teachers assess how accessible their lessons are to students of various cultures and gather feedback...

Area: Garden, Kitchen
Type: Lessons
Rating:
0

The attached video reviews evaluation methods from DataUse Consulting Group.

Area: None
Type: Program Management
Rating:
0

The attached slides show the Organizational Culture of the Edible Schoolyard Project.

Area: None
Type: Program Management
Rating:
0